If only math class had been this much fun.

So last night I decided to check out Geometry Wars 2, I had heard a lot about it via random forums and news posts on Xbox.com. Everyone seemed geeked about it…and I couldn’t figure out what the big deal was. So I get home and see the Geo Wars 2 advertisement on my Xbox dashboard…and I think to myself…”Ehhh..what the hell.”

And so it began.

I took a minute to familiarize myself with the controls. They seemed relatively simple. Left stick moves your..umm Shape(?), the right stick fires in whatever direction you point it in, and the left and right triggers drop bombs (when you have them). So I decide to start my first game, DEADLINE. In this gametype you get infinite lives, but only 3 minutes to cause as much destruction and rack up as many points as possible.

The first thing I noticed were the stunning visuals, the game come standard in Hi-Def 1080p resolution and is amazing to behold. The simplest graphics leap off of the screen and every explosion sends pixels running for their lives in all manner of chaos.

The next thing I noticed was the music…it was not at all what I had expected from a geometry based shooting game (see what I did there?). Every gametype has its own unique and dynamic soundtrack. Unlike many games there is no “beginning” or “end” to each song, they all have seamless loops that start and stop each time you die and respawn.

The gameply itself is tight, the controls were responsive and the AI is masterfully done…if not at times unrelentingly brutal. I never once felt like I was cheated out of a life. I did, however, find myself cursing the green parallelograms…oh i hate them. The gametypes themselves were all a blast to play. Each offered its own brand of challenges and required you to tweak your gameplay to be able to succeed. Feel free to check out the different game types here and here.

On the whole, I would say that Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved 2 was the best 800MP I have ever spent. If an incredibly addictive, fast paced, twitch-reflex type game is your cup of tea, I would suggest that you check it out. The only downside I could find is the same one that has be reverberating around the internet: No Online Multiplayer.

Ahh well, nothing is perfect right?

~ by mendicantbias00 on August 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “If only math class had been this much fun.”

  1. Next time I have some points I’ll check it out! Did you take those screens with a web cam?

  2. Nope, actually these are screen shots from the Geometry Wars website. They were the best I could find. I don’t have a capture card…yet. =)

Leave a Reply

 
