BioShock fanboys/fangirls read no further…

…if you are still reading and you are a fanboy/fangirl, don’t say I didn’t warn you…for those that haven’t played it yet, there may be spoilers…

Whilst perusing Kotaku this morning, I see an article about BioShock for the PS3 that states the the PS3 version will have “cleaner high resolution textures for every facet of the game”. Curious, I check out the HD Trailer over at IGN Video, and to be quite honest it looks exactly the same as the 360 version. While I personally don’t care much for the PS3 or its game selection, I have seen the stunning graphics it can pump out and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t impressed. However, with that said I am not at all impressed with the graphical quality…of the footage in the trailer at least.

Now I realize that it may be a tad too late to be giving my opinion on a game that was released almost 2 months before I even owned a 360…but its my blog and I do what I want! =P

The initial trailers and hype for BioShock had me intrigued to say the least. The idea of being stranded in an underwater Utopia set in the 1950’s, filled with demented party guests, psychotic doctors, and hulking monsters in deep-sea diver suits was absolutely thrilling. Then days after Halo 3 came out my girlfriend got me the Halo 3 edition Xbox 360 and the Limited edition version of Halo 3…needless to say BioShock was the furthest thing from my mind for quite some time. Finally, some months later a friend of mine who had played BioShock more than a few times let me borrow it, assuring me that it was an awesome game, and as a fan of FPS’ I took him at his word.

I have had this game for nearly 9 months and have yet to finish it. It’s not that I didn’t like it, but it wasn’t what I thought it would be. The first time I played I thought the graphics were stunning, the water from the plane crash was amazing, seeing the whales, squids, and other sea life from the passageways of Rapture were all beautiful. When i got my first taste of the story from the disembodied voice of…hell I don’t even remember his name…I thought right away that this was my type of game!

I played for a few hours, ran into some splicers, and a mad doctor that took forever and a day to kill, but had yet to see one of the fabled Big Daddy’s…I had heard them stomping around Rapture (perhaps the most foreboding sound I have ever heard), but still no sight of one. I tested out all sorts of plasmids (electricity/fire + gasoline = awesome) and hacked several robots and vending machines, basically trying to see all that Rapture had to offer.

Weeks or months later (I am not really sure) I pick up the game again. Right off the bat I progress much further, much faster, this time facing what appeared to be ghosts or spectre’s, I had finally killed a Big Daddy or three, and saved as many Little Sisters. After about 4 more hours of play I shut the game off and haven’t touched it since.

I am not sure why I stopped playing, but I do know that I have lost interest, and do not see myself playing again anytime soon. The story kind of fell apart for me, and I stopped caring about why I was working so hard to stop Ryan and get out of Rapture…I think it may have been more fun to become a splicer! Maybe the Bioshock movie will be enough to revitalize my urge to play, but until then it will probably just keep collecting dust.

I would have been your daddy...

I would have been your daddy...

Hmm… I wonder if my friend even remembers that I have this game…

~ by mendicantbias00 on August 7, 2008.

3 Responses to “BioShock fanboys/fangirls read no further…”

  1. You can see squids o_0

    I didn’t know there where squids.

  2. Dude, if you dont know the storyline, you need to atleast play it untill you get to meet Andrew Ryan! I found your blog from lookin up Bioshock artwork.

    It’s one of my favorite games, just cause of the story 🙂

  3. You know this damn article has become the bane of my blogging existence, it just won’t die. LOL
    I actually know how the story ends and I wasn’t all that impressed. I still have the game so maybe i’ll give it a shot someday…but for now it is just going to sit and collect dust. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
